Working with the chest files
The files in the virus chest fall into one of two categories:
- infected or suspicious files – files moved to the virus chest by avast! in accordance with the scan settings or as instructed by the user
- user files – files transferred to the chest by the user.
If you select a file by clicking once on it, you can see the options available by right-clicking your mouse which will open the list of options:
- Delete – this will delete the file irreversibly i.e. it will not just be moved to the recycle bin.
- Restore – this will move the file from the virus chest back to its original location.
- Extract – this will copy the file to the selected folder.
- Scan – this will rescan the file for known viruses.
- Submit to virus lab – this option enables you to send a file to the avast! virus lab, for example, if you believe it was incorrectly identified as infected. Please add as much additional information as possible, including the name of the file/program, version number, and the reason why you believe the file or program should not have been detected.
- Properties – by clicking this, you can see more information about the file and you can also add a comment to give more detail.
- Add – this enables you to browse your system and select other files to be added to the chest.
- Refresh all files – refreshes the list of files in the chest, for example where a new file has been moved to the chest, but the viewable list of chest files has not yet been updated.
Note – files in the virus chest cannot be run. If you double-click a file, by accident or otherwise, you will not run it. Instead, the file properties will be displayed. This is a simple safety feature to prevent infected files being run accidentally and potentially causing damage to your computer.